Inbre thesis fellowship

Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links. ABOUT WYOMING INBRE Wyoming INBRE funding is intended to enhance biomedical research capacity, expand and strengthen the research inbre thesis fellowship of biomedical faculty, and provide access to biomedical resources for promising undergraduate students throughout the eligible states. The Wyoming INBRE network is composed of the students, teachers, and researchers at the University of Wyoming and Wyoming community colleges. Find funding opportunities, information about current projects, resources and more.

Find fellowship opportunites, videos, and programs for undergraduate students. Learn more about and register for the annual INBRE Conference, in conjuction with Undergraduate Research Day. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links. Wyoming INBRE has established a number of programs designed to provide opportunities and fellowships for students. Honors Fellowship and Scholarship Opportunities Thesis Fall Semester: Important: Please prepare your essay ahead of time.

2500 will be offered in 2018-2019 to support a thesis student that has a connection to medicine and the work ethic exemplified by Dr. Reed ’72, the first woman to become a member of the American Board of Thoracic Surgery. 2000 will be offered in 2018-2019 to support a thesis student who expresses an interest in legal service in the public arena. 1500 Lynch Thesis Fellowships will be awarded to Honors College students in the process of writing their theses in any discipline.

Lynch graduated from the University of Maine in 1938 with a degree in electrical engineering, and in 1983, he was awarded the Alumni Association Career Award. Charlie Slavin Research Fund The Charlie Slavin Fund was established with a gift from Charlie’s wife, Nancy Hall, and many of Charlie’s family, friends and colleagues from across the country after his unexpected death in 2012. Honors College Comparative Functional Genomics Thesis Fellowships Thesis Fellowships are available to Honors College students who are working on Honors theses in biomedical research in comparative functional genomics with INBRE research scientists  at the University of Maine. Fall deadline is similar to Honors deadlines. National Scholarships All of these opportunities are open to all students at The University of Maine. We offer this information and guidance as a service to any students who are considering applying.

Local Scholarships More opportunities open to students at The University of Maine. Papers on any topic of ethical concern are also welcome. Opportunities for Honors College students who are interested in hands-on, cutting-edge research in functional genomics. Eight days at Mount Desert Island Biological Laboratory doing hands-on scientific research with outstanding scholars at an internationally renowned research institution. Doesn’t get any better than this. Celebration Awards These awards recipients are selected by an Honors committee from the Honors Student Body at-large.

Steinmetz Book Award The John Ferdinand Steinmetz Memorial Award was established in 1962 through a gift from the family of the late John Ferdinand Steinmetz ’43. This award is given annually to first-year Honors students demonstrating outstanding character and appropriate need. Thomson Memorial Thesis Fellowship The Robert B. Thomson Memorial Awards were established in 1984 by family and friends and are awarded to outstanding Honors College juniors majoring in Political Science and in Art. Aspirations Scholarship The Honors College Aspiration Scholarship Fund was established by the University of Maine Foundation in 2002 with a gift from Nancy B. The fund shall be used to provide scholarship aid for hard-working students enrolled in the Honors College.

82 and Katherine Zeitlin Haskell Honors Scholarship Fund was established at the University of Maine Foundation in 2015 to provide scholarship assistance to University of Maine Honors College students, with a preference for students majoring in Political Science. Professor Melvin Gershman Scholarship The Professor Melvin Gershman Scholarship Fund was established at the University of Maine in 1998 with gifts from family, friends, and associates to provide scholarship assistance to meritorious science students enrolled at the University of Maine. Preference shall be given to students in the Honors College whose curriculum includes a strong emphasis in the humanities. Honors College Service Award This award recognizes one or more graduates of the Honors College for outstanding commitment and contributions to the University of Maine Honors community. The award is supported by gifts from our graduates. Contact: Charlie Slavin, Dean of the Honors College, 207.

The Honors Thesis Fellowships are awarded as a stipend to Honors College students in their senior year whose thesis topic relates to biomedical research in comparative functional genomics. These students will also work with an INBRE research scientist at UMaine or at any of its partner institutions. Fellowships are awarded competitively, and a small award is also provided to the thesis advisors that support the student research thesis. Ryan Dawes, a Biological Engineering major from Belgrade, Maine.

His advisors are Sharon Ashworth, Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences, and David Neivandt, Associate Professor and Director of Product Development,Pulp and Paper Process Development Center. Sam Entwisle, a Chemistry major from Sedgwick, Maine. His adviser is Dorothy Croall, Professor of  Biochemistry. Erin Keim, a Biology major from Veazie, Maine. Aaron Perreault, a Biology major from Northfield, New Hampshire. His mentor is Carol Kim, Associate Professor of Biochemistry. Kara Sarver, a Biochemistry major from Gorham, Maine.

Her mentor is Mary Rumpho, Professor of Biochemistry. The Junior Year Research Award is a stipend available to third-year Honors College students who will work with biomedical research scientists on research projects in comparative functional genomics. This year, one award has been given to Breana Bennett, a Biochemistry major from Freedom, Maine. Her mentor is Sharon Ashworh, Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences. One additional Honors Thesis Fellowship is available, and five additional Junior Research Awards are available.

Students in the Honors College can apply by contacting Charlie Slavin, Dean of the Honors College at 207. NIH supported network of thirteen Maine institutions including Mount Desert Island Biological Laboratory, the University of Maine, and the Honors College at the University of Maine. The overall goal of the Maine INBRE is to strengthen Maine’s capacity to conduct NIH-competitive biomedical research. Maine’s INBRE provides research support and core facilities to junior faculty, creates research and training opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students, and serves as a pipeline for students to pursue health research careers and enhance the scientific and technological knowledge of Maine’s workforce.